• Sale
  • Regular price $23.34
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Mekons + Freakwater = FREAKONS !! Mekons (beloved, mythical British rabble-rousing beast) and Freakwater (also beloved, yet often derided as godmothers of Alt-Country) have allied their sundry song & dance talents for the forces of good. Together they are FREAKONS, and they have joined forces to sing songs about coal mining, of all things. Oddly, Freakwater and Mekons were bound to each other at the start, by the rich seam of Anthracite coal running the width of the Atlantic Ocean from Wales to the Appalachian Mountains. The music and culture of mineral resource extraction, ecological disaster, and worker exploitation are their shared heritage. FREAKONS is the first fruit of this visionary musical union. The LP is a Gatefold design package.


  • 1 Dark Lords of the Mine
  • 2 Chestnut Blight
  • 3 Abernant 84/85
  • 4 Julie Belle Thompson
  • 5 Canaries
  • 6 Blackleg Miner
  • 7 Phoebe Snow
  • 8 The Mannington Mine Disaster
  • 9 Never Thought I'd See the Day
  • 10 Dreadful Memories
  • 11 Coorie Doon
  • 12 Blue Scars of a Miner

How long will shipping take?

Item is In Stock/Inbound Item is on Pre-Order Item is on Backorder
Orders will ship within 1 day of being available Orders will ship near or on release date, as they are checked in Orders will ship as they become available, and may take 2-12 weeks